While reading this text I could not help but think at some points if I was sold or still unsure about different things presented to me. I think personally for me as a reader I was somewhat isolated at first due to all of the Spanish embedded within the text. I have not taken Spanish in a long time so it took time and broke my “flow” to use a translator to get a better understanding of the dialogue. I think there are different ways to consider the aspects of the text when deciding what to believe. Primarily the idea of the Fuku, which is revisited throughout the whole text. I think that each culture has their own “Fuku” that they believe in. While reading the text I got the feeling that this was a sort of superstition, present within their culture. It seems as though the author (Yunior) is going to sell us on this idea by providing us with examples dated back to great grandparents showing the readers that this curse is real and ruined a family.
Second, there is the actual accounts that are given to prove this curse to be true. I guess that pertains to the readers themselves. How superstitious are you? Is the story somewhat believable? I can only speak for myself, so in regards to learning about the great grandparents I believe that the government controlled everyone and the people feared what could come from the government. I believe in the idea that Abelard was taken from his family and it was all a misunderstanding however, he was never given the chance to clear his name. The foreign government is no joke. I also think the believable comes from how the author portrays the real. Is it something we can believe? Could it be true? Alternatively, is it completely impossible? Wood I am revisiting you again. It is believable that family members were killed and a girl was orphaned, however it is the individual stories of each family member that require the reader to make the decision of whether or not to decide if the raw truth is unbelievable but true, or if it is just not possible. Again I think it goes back to whole idea of this curse and whether or not you believe in such things.

Random thoughts…..

I am still questioning the authenticity of the story in which one of the sisters died from a bullet in her head while she was praying, it seems a little bit ironic. As well as the one sister who died from suicide in a pool, that was only two feet deep. I think that Oscar had it hard for most of his life being an outcast and would embed his fantasy world into the actual reality but imagining himself as one of the heroes from his video games saving the recent girl he had fallen in love with. I am unsure if I like Yunior or not. As much as he used Oscar to get to Lola and because he was not going to have a place to live it seemed as though he ended up caring for him as a true friend. I think also that possibly the idea of the Fuku was a way to shift the blame from himself on something else, for the reason why he was fat and “got no girls”. Instead of trying to fix the problem, it was easier to assume that his family was cursed and there was no possibly way of overcoming this. The ending of the book is where I really question realism. Oscar has died and the author then tells everyone that he did lose his virginity. I feel like that should have been a major part of the book since it was brought up in almost every chapter. It deserved a little more than a mention and a quick story. In addition, it was mentioned after the author reveals to the reader he died, as a reassurance that he did not die a virgin. Kind of fishy I do not know. It also seems like Lola and her mother had a lot more in common than her mother would like to admit.

